The world is more interesting at night

The world is more interesting at night.  That is the conclusion I have come to.

I have been staying up late.  Like until 2 or 3 am.  This isn’t especially uncharacteristic for me – I’ve always stayed up late, slept in late, arrived late for school and appointments.

But in the last two or three days, I have specifically wanted to go to bed earlier (so as to wake up earlier and to just be better in all ways ever.)

And I have still gone to bed at like 2 am each night.

Its now 1:28am.

A few hours ago, at like 10 or 11, I was so bored.  The internet was not entertaining me.  I had already caught up on facebook, twitter, and emails.  What’s left?  Reading articles?  Nah.  Playing games?  Nah.  Stalking people?  Nah.  The internet could not fulfill me.  And of course nothing in the real world was interesting either.

But yet I didn’t want to go to bed.  It was too early to go to bed and going to bed that early would have been horrendously boring and lame and blah blah blah no fun.

Then at maybe around 11:30 or 12 I came across a new blog that had an assortment of fun articles.  And I’ve been reading it ever since.  Plus, while listening to Pandora, “Sexyback” by Justin Timberlake came on.  It is one of my all time favorite songs.  It instantly reminded me of a high school friend who was later my roommate for a year in college.  I will be seeing her in a week.  So I had to write on her facebook wall that I was listening to the song.  This gave me the idea to sort through my entire iTunes music library and pick out the best songs from high school so that when I visit her (and my other high school friends back in California) we can reminisce together.

Its now 1:32am.  The [4.5 hour] playlist is complete.  I just read an article on the aforementioned blog that is pretty much exactly what I am going through in my life and the feelings I have been having lately.  It was as if I wrote the article myself, although it was more insightful than I think I could have been.

Why couldn’t I find these entertaining things to do 5 hours ago?

Leave a Reply

